About Ministry

The President of the United Republic of Tanzania on 7th October, 2017 amended the Notice on assignment of Ministerial Functions (Instrument) No.144 of 22nd April, 2016. In that amendment, the President has created a Ministry of Minerals which is mandated to formulate and monitor implementation of Mining Policies; Mines, Geophysical and Geological Surveys; Mining Commission Affairs; Value Addition in Mining Industries; Local Content in Mining Industries; Small Scale Mining Development; Performance Improvement and Development of Human Resources; Extra-Ministerial Departments, Parastatal Organisations, Agencies, Programmes and Projects under this Ministry.

The proposed functions and organisation structure of the Ministry of Minerals has taken into account the recent changes in the regulatory framework of minerals sector administration in the country through the Written Laws (Miscellaneous Amendments) Act, 2017 as published by GN No. 27 of 7th July, 2017. Among other things, the Act has provided the following changes:-

  • Establishment of the Mining Commission as a body corporate commonly known as Public Service Parastatal;
  • Abolishment of Tanzania Minerals Audit Agency(TMAA) and the Zone Mines Offices; and
  • Transfer of operational functions that were being performed under the Minerals Division of the former Ministry of Energy and Minerals to the Mining Commission and Geological Survey of Tanzania.


To be a reputable Ministry in Africa that develops mineral resources sustainably for optimal contribution to the National Economy and the well-being of Tanzanians.


To have a conducive policy framework for sustainable utilisation and management of mineral resources for social economic growth and development.


Minister, Deputy Minister, Permanent Secretary and Deputy Permanent Secretary

Hon. Dr. Doto Mashaka Biteko(MP)
Minister Of Minerals
Hon. Dr. Steven L Kiruswa(MP)
Deputy Minister Of Minerals
Mr. Adolf H Ndunguru
Permanent Secretary
Ministry Of Minerals
Mr. Msafiri L Mbibo
Deputy Permanent Secretary
Ministry Of Minerals

Organization Structure

Latest News
Aliyoyasema Katibu Mkuu wa Wizara ya Madini, Adol…

’Nimeona Nyuso Zenye Furaha , Amani na Utulivu’’ Ninayo furaha kuwa nanyi hapa ili tuanze safari hi…

by: madini on: Jan. 10, 2022, 2:55 p.m.

Ukusanyaji wa Maduhuli Sekta ya Madini Wafikia As…

Mwenyekiti wa Tume ya Madini, Profesa Idris Kikula amesema kuwa katika kipindi cha mwezi Julai, 202…

by: madini on: April 28, 2021, 12:51 p.m.

Tume ya Madini Yaagizwa Kutafuta Masoko

Naibu Waziri wa Madini, Dkt. Steven Kiruswa ameiagiza Tume ya Madini kutafuta Masoko ya wanunuzi wa…

by: madini on: Jan. 30, 2022, 9:32 a.m.

Dkt. Kiruswa Aagiza Tathmini Mgodi wa Nyanzaga Ih…

NAIBU Waziri wa Madini Dkt. Steven Kiruswa amemtaka Mthamini Mkuu wa Serikali Evelyne Mugasha kukam…

by: madini on: June 9, 2022, 8:46 a.m.

Read News
Contact Us
Permanent Secretary,
Ministry of Minerals,
Madini Street,
Government City, Mtumba
P. O. Box 422,
Dodoma, Tanzania
Email: ps@madini.go.tz
Visitors Counter
Today Visitors: 132
Yesterday Visitors: 1507
All Visitors: 409793
Online Visitors: 4
Copyright©2021 Ministry of Minerals